Network OS Administration Guide

Supporting Network OS 6.0.1a

Part Number: 53-1003768-04

Deleting a zone

Before deleting a zone, ensure that the zone is not a member of any enabled zone configuration. Although the deletion will proceed in RAM, you will not be able to save the configuration to nonvolatile memory if an enabled zone configuration has the deleted zone as a member.

  1. In privileged EXEC mode, enter the show running-config zoning defined-configuration command and verify that the zone you want to delete is not a member of an enabled zone configuration. If the zone is a member of an enabled zone configuration, remove it.
  2. Enter the configure terminal command to enter the global configuration mode.
  3. Enter the no zoning defined-configuration zone command and enter the name of the zone you want to delete.
  4. Enter the zoning enabled-configuration cfg-action cfg-save command to save the modified configuration to nonvolatile memory.
    NOTE
    The parent configuration is removed when the last child object is removed, irrespective of the save operation.

    Example of removing a zone from the defined configuration:

    switch# show running-config zoning defined-configuration
    zoning defined-configuration zone zone1
    member-entry 10:00:00:00:00:00:00:01
    !
    zoning defined-configuration zone zone2
    member-entry 10:00:00:00:00:00:00:02
    !
    switch# configure terminal
    Entering configuration mode terminal
    switch(config)# no zoning defined-configuration zone zone2
    switch(config)# zoning enabled-configuration cfg-action cfg-save
    Updating flash ...
    switch(config)# exit
    switch# show running-config zoning defined-configuration
    zoning defined-configuration zone zone1
    member-entry 10:00:00:00:00:00:00:01