Network OS Administration Guide

Supporting Network OS 6.0.1a

Part Number: 53-1003768-04

Operational modes

Network OS supports the following operational modes for Brocade VDX switches.

The two operational modes are:

  • Logical chassis cluster mode — One of two types of "VCS" modes for a switch. This mode requires Network OS 4.0.0 or later. In this mode, both the data and configuration paths are distributed. The entire cluster is configured from the principal node. Refer to Logical chassis cluster mode for more information.
  • Fabric cluster mode — The second of two types of "VCS" modes for a switch. In this mode, the data path for nodes is distributed, but the configuration path is not distributed. Each node keeps its configuration database independently. Refer to Fabric cluster mode for more information.

When a new switch boots up, the switch enters fabric cluster mode.

The generic term VCS mode in this manual applies to both fabric cluster mode and logical chassis cluster mode unless otherwise stated.
Each time you change the Brocade VCS Fabric configuration, the switch resets to the default configuration and reboots automatically. Make sure to save the configuration before you change it.